Fish and Game Commission’s leadership maintains status quo

ROHNERT PARK — After a whirlwind of changes in 2015 and 2016, the California Fish and Game Commission begins its 2017 calendar with stability and familiarity.

Commissioner Eric Sklar has been re-appointed by his colleagues as the agency’s president. Re-appointed as the commission’s vice-president for a second consecutive term was Commissioner Jacque Hostler-Carmesin.

Sklar has also maintained the same committee assignments as last year with himself and Commissioner Peter Silva serving on the Marine Resources Committee, Anthony Williams and Russell Burns sitting on the Wildlife Resources Committee and Hostler-Carmesin returning as chair of the Tribal Committee.

The appointments and committee assignments were made during the Feb. 8 Fish and Game Commission meeting in Rohnert Park.

The commission transformed almost entirely in 2015 and 2016. Former executive director Sonke Mastrup left the commission’s top staff position in December 2015 and was replaced by Valerie Termini six months later.

Three commissioners – Jack Baylis, Richard Rogers and Michael Sutton – stepped down from the agency a few months before Mastrup’s departure. A fourth commissioner – Jim Kellogg – ended his tenure on the commission in late 2015 as well.

Hostler-Carmesin, Sklar and Williams conducted the commission’s meetings during the first five months of 2016; Gov. Jerry Brown filled the commission’s final two seats in mid-2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *